Jackpot for TeXtreme® teams in World Solar Challenge

2013-10-14 | Motorsport

The 2013 World Solar Challenge ended with victories for TeXtreme® sponsored teams in both the Challenger class and Michelin Cruiser Class. In the GoPro Adventure Class a second place was collected. 

In total ten teams using TeXtreme® Spread Tow carbon reinforcements to reduce weight, improve stiffness and impact tolerance participated in different classes in the 2013 World Solar Challenge held 6th to 13th of October in the Australian outback.

Nuon Solar Team with their car Nuna 7 who’s composite parts has been developed using TeXtreme® and DSMs Daron® resin early took the lead in the prestigious Challenger Class and then never looked back holding the number one position all the way to the finish. 

In the same class Solar Team Twente and their The RED Engine vehicle finished third. Punch Powertrain Solar Team won the Technical Innovation award at the award ceremony concluding the race. 

In the Cruiser Class Solar Team Eindhoven finished first with their Stella “passenger car”. UNSW Solar Racing Team - Sunswift with their vehicle Eve grabbed a spot at the podium in the same class by finishing third. 

Team Antakari with their car IntiKallpa 2 finished second the third class, GoPro Adventure Class, being one of only two teams racing all the way to the finishing line.

The prominent positions by the supported teams further establish TeXtreme® as the leading composite reinforcement material when it comes to weight savings. 

In overall all the teams and students have been very good at utilizing the unique benefits of TeXtreme® Spread Tow carbon reinforcements and designing the composite parts balancing the mechanical properties and reduced weight to get the optimal results on the car and in the race.

All the TeXtreme® sponsored team present in Australia competing in the 2013 World Solar Challenge:

•    Nuon Solar Team, Nuna 7, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands
•    Solar Team Twente, the RED Engine, University of Twente and Saxion, University of Applied Sciences, Netherlands 
•    Punch Powertrain Solar Team, Indupol One, KU Leuven Campus GROUPT, Belgium 
•    Solar Team Eindhoven, Stella, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
•    UNSW Solar Racing Team – Sunswift, Eve, University of NSW, Australia
•    Antakari, IntiKallpa 2, Universidad de La Serena y Minera Los Pelambres, Chile
•    University of Minnesota, Daedalus, University of Minnesota, USA
•    JU Solar Team, Natural Magic Energy, Jönköping University, Sweden
•    ITU Solar Car Team, Ariba VI, Istanbul Technical University, Turkey
•    University of Michigan Solar Car Team, Generation, University of Michigan, USA 

All results can be found on the World Solar Challenge website.


About World Solar Challenge
The World Solar Challenge is a solar-powered car race which covers 3021 km (1,877 miles) through the Australian Outback, from Darwin to Adelaide. The race attracts teams from around the world, most of which are fielded by universities or corporations although some are fielded by high schools. The race has a 20-year history spanning eleven races, with the inaugural event taking place in 1987. The objective of this competition is to promote research on solar-powered cars.